Film is Dead : Long Live Film

As you will hopefully already know, I continue to work on photographic film, especially Black and White. Its central to my process and very much shapes the feel of my work. Since the advent of digital (starting in my final year of my Degree) various makes of film have ceased production, most importantly for me was the demise of AGFA Pan 100, a film I still miss. I recently discovered that it is being made again, but sadly not in the medium format size that I use.

The great news is that film companies like Fuji and Kodak are still developing black and white films and even more exciting is that camera companies are making new film cameras like this Voightlander. I saw this in BJP and again on the Horses Think blog, it looks very old fashioned but is in fact very sophisticated. Its also very lovely to look at.

bessa_iii_top_mbp2897jpg1

Leave a Reply

